To Do: Procrastinate

It started with “I need a night off” and has become “I need to spend time with my friends before I move” and “well there isn’t really anything I can be doing right now.” Procrastination. Friends and colleagues often tell me how “well put-together” I appear. And sure, I can generally agree with that observation; I like structure, organization, and planning- a trait that got me into some trouble in my relationship.  Despite this quality, I have a tendency of falling into procrastination ruts. Since I was so on top of things when I began planning this transition, I’ve convinced myself that it’s ok to slack off a bit now. And it is ok, isn’t it? I’ve been diligent in so many areas: looking for an apartment, exploring neighborhoods, tying up miscellaneous loose ends in Hartford (I just made a vet appointment for the pup), and budgeting for my new life in New York. I even convinced myself that watching Bette Middler in Gypsy on Netflix is productive (hey, it relates to my career, right?). Ok, all if this makes it seem like I’ve been very productive but there’s one area where procrastination has taken over: Packing.

Maybe it’s because the details of my lease aren’t 100% firm yet or maybe it’s because I still have another three weeks, but I can’t seem to touch the pile of boxes, bubble wrap, and packing tape that is taking up precious space in my studio apartment. While I’m still waiting for an exact date when the current subletters are moving out of my to-be bedroom, one way or another I’ll be living in New York by July 1 and I know that once I dive into packing, my organizational skills will kick into overdrive and it’ll be an exciting, cleansing process…but it can wait until the weekend.

Leave a Reply

